The Funding Zone

Wisloski Named PA Football Writers Class 2A Player of the Year

Tagged under: All-Stars, District 4, News

| December 29, 2022


Southern Columbia’s Braeden Wisloski put on a show in this year’s Class 2A state championship game, as he scored a pair of touchdowns to help the Tigers to their 6th consecutive state title. For his play, Wisloski was named the 2A Player of the Year by the Pennsylvania Football Writers.

Wisloski, the University of Maryland commit, caught a 61-yard TD and rushed for a 38-yard TD en route to 160 yards on 19 attempts in this year’s state title game, capped a tremendous senior season which saw him nearly hit 2,000 rushing yards (1,959 to be exact), on 165 carries with 26 TDs.

Joining Wisloski on this year’s all-state team from District IV are fellow Tigers Chris Treshock (OL), Tyler Arnold (DL), Dominic Fetterolf (LB), and Wes Barnes (LB). In addition, Mount Carmel’s Nick Nestico (OL), Matt Scicchitano (DL), and Garrett Varano (DB) and Hughesville’s Mason Hoppes (LB) and Aiden Barlett (DB) were also named to the team.

Wisloski also caught 12 passes for 265 yards and 4 TDs.

Fetterolf made 158 tackles, 2 sacks, 4 pass breakups, and caught an interception.

Nestico anchored the Red Tornadoes’ offensive line which accumulated 3,208 yards and 51 touchdowns.

Varano was 3rd on Mount Carmel’s defense with 75 tackles, 6 interceptions for 46 yards, 5 pass breakups, and a recovered fumble while teammate Scicchitano made 66 tackles and 6.5 sacks this season.

Hoppes led the Spartans with 191 tackles, an interception, 2 pass breakups, 2 forced/recovered fumbles, and 2 sacks.

Barlett made 97 tackles, 3rd on the Hughesville defense, and added 6 interceptions for 52 yards, 3 pass breakups, 1 forced fumble, and 2 recovered fumbles.

Follow PA Football News on Twitter @PaFootballNews